Skip to main content

Two New Sebastian Inlet District Commissioners Sworn In for Brevard and Indian River Counties

Photo of Lisa Frazier and Chris Hendricks

Lisa Frazier, Seat 5-Brevard County, and Chris Hendricks, Seat 4-Indian River County, were elected and sworn-in in November as two new Commissioners for the Sebastian Inlet District after November’s election.  Frazier and Hendricks will serve four-year terms and join Commission Chairman Jenny Lawton Seal, Seat 1-Brevard County; Beth Mitchell, Seat 2-Indian River County; Michael Rowland, Seat 3-Brevard County.

“I couldn’t be more pleased to see such capable people with the right skill sets, training and experience step in to help manage the District,” said Martin Smithson, Sebastian Inlet District Administrator.  “Commissioner Frazier brings expertise in environmental planning, and Commissioner Hendricks has a wealth of experience in government and finance.  Combined with the dedication of Commissioners Lawton Seal, Mitchell and Rowland, the District is in as a strong a position as I’ve seen in my 14-year tenure here.”

Frazier holds a Master of Science in Environmental Planning from Florida Institute of Technology, is employed as Community Development Director for the City of Sebastian and has lived in South Brevard County for almost 30 years.  She has certifications from the American Institute of Certified Planners (AICP) and the Project Management Institute (PMI), and is immediate Past-Chair and current Treasurer for the Atlantic Coast Section of the American Planning Association.

“I’m looking forward to representing the interests of constituents in both Brevard and Indian River counties as a Commissioner,” said Frazier.  “Technical capabilities are important in this position, and I feel my education and experience provide the tools necessary to make decisions based on the technical data and what’s in the public’s best interest.”

Hendricks has been active in coastal issues since joining the Indian River County Beach and Shore Preservation Advisory Committee in 2009.  He is a past Chairman, and also currently serves as a Board Member for the North Beach Civic Association and the Indian River Lagoon Council.  Hendricks retired as the Deputy Inspector General to the U.S. House of Representatives after 30 years of federal services, and is a CPA. He has served on Board of Directors for national and international corporations in the finance, retail and manufacturing industries.

“I hope to use my experience in continuing the good work of the Sebastian Inlet District.  I have an intimate understanding of government, within which we have many partners, and can bring my financial expertise to bear in managing the District in a fiscally responsible way,” said Hendricks.  “My goal is to protect our natural resources and the quality of life we as citizens enjoy here in our communities for generations to come.”

Frazier beat out incumbent Dave Pasley who had served as a Commissioner for four years and challenger Adam Tritt.  Hendricks ran unopposed after Ann Perry, who had served as a Commissioner for 16 years, opted not to run.

The Sebastian Inlet District was created in 1919 as an independent special district by act of the Florida State Legislature, and chartered to maintain the navigational channel between the Atlantic Ocean and the Indian River.  The Sebastian Inlet District is governed by a 5-member, elected Commission and its responsibilities have grown to include beach re-nourishment and dune repair as part of a state mandated sand bypass system, erosion control, environmental protection and public safety.  The Sebastian Inlet supports a rich and diverse ecological environment that is unparalleled in North America.  The Inlet is vital not only to the ecological health of the Indian River Lagoon, but it is also an important economic engine for local communities in the region.  Known as the premier surfing, fishing, boating and recreational area on the east coast of Florida, the inlet is one of only five navigable channels that connect the Indian River lagoon to the Atlantic Ocean.